Summer Mural Program

Music Legends @ 151 Essex Street, Lawrence, MA
Music Legends @ 151 Essex Street, Lawrence, MA

Since 2013, the Summer Mural Program creates inspiring, historical, and narrative art enriching and transforming public spaces and people's lives, working in collaboration with city agencies, artists, community-based organizations, non-profits, private businesses, artists, schools and the community. The program also promotes restorative social justice through the art making process, by enabling at-risk youth opportunities to participate in creating positive change.

Essex Art Center manages this six week summer program in collaboration with Lawrence Valley Works, local businesses, the City of Lawrence, and private donors.  Essex Art Center provides materials and staff to oversee the projects design and creation.  Lawrence Valley works provides paid student workers to paint the murals – many of whom have never picked up a brush before.  This unique, collaborative project helps transform blighted spaces through the transformative power of the arts!

See a recent article about this years mural in the Eagle Tribune

See a YouTube VIdeo about the 2015 Program!

See a YouTube Video about the 2014 Program!

The 2016 Mural Artist Team

Lead Artist/Teacher - Jason Asselin, Assistant - Catherine Perez

Student workers from ValleyWorks: Kelvin Abreu, Rodalfi Heredia Alvarez, David Olivio, Aidan Rodriguez, Luis Rodriguez and Kyarha Svelti.

Funding for the 2016 Mural Program is provided by the Rosman Family Fund,  the Highland Street Foundation and Essex Art Center, with student workers provided by ValleyWorks.

The 2015 Mural Artist Team

Lead Artist/Teacher - Eric Allshouse; Assistant – Catherine Perez

Student workers from ValleyWorks: Moralys De La Rosa, Yanibel Hiraldo, Ninoshka Martinez, Aidan Rodriguez and Emanuel Rodriquez.

The 2015 Summer Mural Program is sponsored by generous donations made in memory of David Lebrun, The White Fund of Lawrence and The Forest Foundation (in honor of Leslie Costello and Helen Tory and their dedication to EAC).